Identities, A Block - HOMEWORK

For Tuesday, Sept 8
Reread "Steal Away"
Be prepared to discuss questions on prompt sheet with your group in class.

For Thursday, Sept 10
Finish in-class writing

For Tuesday, Sept. 15
Finish in class writing (Choose one of the following prompts):
Describe a time when you were afraid of revealing something about who you were OR Describe a time when you learned something about someone you knew they wanted secret. 
Describe the event/memory in as much detail as you can.

For Thursday, 9/17
Complete response sheet for "Raymond's Run"

For Monday, Sept 21
Final (3rd) writing prompt:
Describe a time when you discovered something about yourself that surprised you OR Write a story in which a character discovers something about hirself that surprises hir.  

NARRATIVE PROJECT DUE TUESDAY, 9/29 (assignment attached below)

For Monday, Oct 5
Finish visual representation of shifting identitiies and/or write brief artist's explanation if needed.

For Tuesday, Oct 6
Finish reading "No Name Woman" in The Woman Warrior
Complete prompt sheet

For Tuesday, Oct 13
Finish reading "White Tigers" in The Woman Warrior
Complete prompt sheet

For Thursday, Oct 15
Read to page 75 in The Woman Warrior
Expect reading quiz

For Monday, Oct 19
Read to page 96 in The Woman Warrior
Expect reading quiz

For Tuesday, Oct 20
Read to page 109 in The Woman Warrior

For Thursday, Oct 22
Read to page 126 in The Woman Warrior
Expect Quiz

For Monday, Oct 26
Read to page 147 in The Woman Warrior
Expect Quiz

For Tuesday, Oct 27
Don't forget permission slip & $ for field trip
Continue filling in Stories sheet.  Try to have 4 (or 5) rows thoroughly filled out.

For Thursday, Oct 29
Read to page 160 in The Woman Warrior
Expect some kind of quiz / response sheet

For Monday, Nov 2
Read to bottom of page 184 in The Woman Warrior
Expect Quiz

For Thursday, Nov 5
Finish The Woman Warrior if you haven't yet
Honors - write reflection (sheet attached)
Non-honors - Choose one theme in the book and list at least 4 places where it shows up

For Monday, Nov 9
Bring in one juicy question about The Woman Warrior

For Thursday, Nov 12
Prepare for the Battle of the Minds (project description below)

TALK-STORY PROJECT DUE TUESDAY, 11/24
(project description below)

DEADLINE TO HAVE COPY OF INDEPENDENT READING BOOK: 11/30 (list below)

DUE DATES FOR INDEPENDENT READING UNIT (Overview with assignment descriptions attached below)
Assignment #1 (must cover at least ¼ of book): Monday, 12/7

Assignment #2 (must cover at least ½ of book): Monday, 12/14

Assignment #3 (must cover at least ¾ of book): Monday, 12/21

Changes Over Time Graph with Explanations (or essay):  Thursday, 1/7
Ċ
Lise Brody,
Nov 16, 2015, 7:02 AM
Ċ
Lise Brody,
Dec 23, 2015, 5:31 AM
Ċ
Lise Brody,
Nov 30, 2015, 7:27 AM
ċ
Lise Brody,
Sep 21, 2015, 6:53 AM
Ċ
Lise Brody,
Nov 16, 2015, 7:01 AM
Ċ
Lise Brody,
Nov 9, 2015, 9:44 AM
Comments